My Inauguration Experience

Yes, by now the Inauguration is history, but I wanted to share a quick post about my experience standing on the National Mall to witness this historic event.  True, a big part of me didn’t want to trek down to the mall and spend most of the day standing in the cold just so I could watch Obama’s swearing in on a jumbotron.  But the regret I would surely feel at missing such an event outweighed my concerns about personal comfort and frostbite.  In the end, it was all worth it.  Although the rest of America got to see, and hear, the events taking place on the steps of the Capitol much more clearly than I (even though I was sooo much closer) I was privy to the ongoing reaction from the crowd and was able to enjoy the moment with a specific mix of people that was unique to me in my square foot of mall space.   It was beautiful and I’m thankful I was able to be there.  Here are a few pics from the mall yesterday:  December, New Year and Inauguration 2009 568 December, New Year and Inauguration 2009 575

December, New Year and Inauguration 2009 589

Leave a Reply

